Flight


This blog is about flight. Human flight. More specifically about general aviation and private aircraft. It will be an electronic logbook of sorts, hence the title FlightBlog.

I am not a professional pilot, although I strive to fly like one.

I am most assuredly not a professional writer, so I hope readers will give me some latitude on this.

Not every flight will be logged here, and sometimes we will just write about the joy of flying in general. Sometimes I must fly commercial and hate when it is necessary. There is an old saying that one would rather be captain of his own dingy than a passenger on someone else’s (crowded) boat.

I have been interested in flying ever since I was a small child. My mother saved a picture of me that ran in the Charlotte Observer admiring a toy plane in a department store. I was 5 at the time.

My favorite childhood fable of all time was the story by Ovid, in his Metamorphoses , of Daedalus and Icarus. As you may recall, this father and son were imprisoned in a tower on the island of Crete. Daedalus and Icarus escaped from their island prison by fashioning wings, shaped like those of a bird, fabricated of of bird feathers, string and wax. The string secured the larger feathers and the wax the smaller ones.

Unfortunately, after passing the islands of Samos, Delos, and Lebynthos and despite his father’s repeated warnings, Icarus flew too close to the sun. The warmth from the sun melted the wax that held his feathers together, and Icarus plunged into the sea to his death.

I always wanted to fly like Daedalus and Icarus. Just not the crashing part.

My private pilot license was obtained when I was 37. Inspiration came from the fact that my brother and cousin were already pilots, and each had already purchased their own planes. They motivated me to join “the club”, and offered the encouragement it took to obtain the ticket.

An instrument rating soon followed after getting stuck on top of an undercast in a rented Cessna 172. Later, I passed the checkride for the Multi-Engine Land Instrument Rating and then a Glider Rating. My logbook now has over 1,350 hours total flight time, mostly in Beech Bonanzas.

If you have an interest in reading about flying, general aviation and the technology that makes flight possible and safe, check back in here from time to time. I will strive to keep my posts as interesting and entertaining as I can.

Whether you are a fellow pilot, a student pilot, a future pilot, or a non-pilot, hopefully you will come to understand why man has always looked to the sky and desired to soar just like the birds.

This entry was posted in General aviation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.