N9481U


This was the little plane that started it all, meaning my love of aviation. N9481U was not just any Cessna 150, but a Cessna 150/150. She was a 1976 model ship, based at Orlando Country Airport, near Zellwood, FL.

This aircraft had the 150 horsepower engine under the cowl, usually reserved for the larger 4-seat Cessna 172 model.

This bird would easily cruise in the yellow arc, and on my first solo, climbed like a homesick angel.

N9481U is the aircraft that I spent 42 flight hours in to complete my private pilot rating. And many more hours obtaining my instrument rating.

I remember my first VFR cross-country solo to LaBelle, Florida (LBV), then to Pahokee (PHK) and back to Orlando Country Airport (X04). I vividly recall my instructor chiding me because I used VOR navigation as opposed to Pilotage. This was before GPS. I always felt more comfortable triangulating VORs than figuring out which water tower I was flying over.

I also recall more than a few hot summer days doing unusual attitudes while under the hood and wondering if my lunch was going to stay put.

Good times…..

This entry was posted in Flight Training, General aviation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to N9481U

  1. Anonymous says:

    I remember that plane very well……………………….the women that owned that airport said that you & Cameron were the best two pilots to ever train there

    Jim (dad)

Comments are closed.