GAMI #2 Baffle Cooling Kit


I fly behind an IO-550 Continental engine. Last year I had the GAMI #6 cooling baffle kit installed. This is an aftermarket kit that keeps the front left cylinder cool on climb out, especially on warm days. Temps dropped an average of 40 degrees on the cylinder on climb and cruise.

I was so impressed with cylinder head temps drops on this cylinder, I added the #2 baffle kit this year. On climb out this weekend, my #2 cylinder never went over 375* and dropped to 290* in cruise, LOP. The baffle replaces the factory baffle at the rear of the cylinder and improves airflow behind the fins.

The #2 and #6 cylinders are notoriously hot, and I’m convinced these upgrades will help prolong cylinder life.

 

gami-2-drawing-and-specs

This entry was posted in General aviation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.